top of page

Final Reflection

Final Reflection

LEARNING

During my 19 years of teaching, I had seen many changes in curriculum, planning, instruction and assessment. At times I thought these changes were ‘fads’ , but this course has given me the insight behind these decisions. I now know that educational philosophies, and conceptions of curriculum influenced curriculum design. I have a deeper understanding of curriculum. These changes were made for a reason and the curriculum developers believed in different conceptions of curriculum and associated educational philosophies. I now can look at these changes in curriculum with new eyes. This course has given me the knowledge to analyze these curricular designs and to look at how they affect planning, instruction, and assessment within my professional practice.

These insights really started to come into play when I worked with Laura on our prezi. It helped me see the connections from the readings, discussions and my practise. Mapping it out allowed me to see the relationships of the different conceptions of curriculum and associated educational philosophies and curriculum design. I now see the connections between different curriculum designs and my planning , instruction , and assessment . My greatest growth in this course has been the realization that my conceptions of curriculum, planning, instruction and assessment are a blend of many different philosophies.

Another insight for me was when I took my learning and put it “out in the world,” into my professional community. I am now a member of both professional communities that I analysed. It is my hope that I can connect to other professionals in my field and continue conversations on curriculum,planning, instruction, and assessment.Through ASCD and edWeb.net, I hope to learn from other educators, sharing best practices, analyzing student data, and planning for instruction. By having professional community I hope to collaborate with teachers from all over the world!

APPROVE UPON

One thing I think I can approve upon is to continue to taking risks and connecting to my professional communities. It was a bit intimidated to write a blog on the ASCD website. I was a disheartened when I got no responses. I hope I connect to the community members soon.

MY LEARNING INTO MY PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE

After 19 years of being in the classroom and being confident of my beliefs as a teacher, I am going to change roles. As a literacy coach, I need to be mindful of how individuals' personal values, background, goals, and ideas differ. It is these differences in curricular conceptions and philosophies that determine how educators plan, instruct and assess our students. As a coach, I must listen actively and respond appropriately according to learning needs, situations, and contexts. I feel that knowing is half the battle and sharing our different philosophies of education and curriculum designs will help teachers understand each other. Starting with a conversation by asking teachers which philosophy (or combination of multiple philosophies) they most adhere to, would be useful to get teachers thinking about their practises.

At my school, teachers are obligated to cover the curriculum, but every educator is unique! I believe that as I work with each teacher at my school, the instruction, planning and assessment will look quite different. And that is to be expected. There is not one philosophy that is going to meet the needs of all the students. That is what we are here for…..our students!

I really enjoyed learning from you all!

Thank you


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page